Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Campus Chairs Update October 2015

Campus and Bargaining Chair Elections

Campus Chair elections were recently held. These are the results:
  • Moose Jaw - Shawna North
  • Prince Albert - Deb Zawada Wiebe
  • Regina - Terri Wale
  • Saskatoon - Bonnie Bond
Election for the bargaining chairperson was also held as per our bargaining guidelines. Shawna North was the successful candidate. An election will now be held to fill the campus chairperson opening in Moose Jaw. Brent Wilderman will be acting campus chair until an election is held.

Membership Meetings to Review Proposals 
Each campus chair will be having membership meetings in each campus city to review proposals and changes to our bargaining guidelines. These meetings will be the last week in October. Your campus chair will be sending out this information under separate email.

PEPP Board Member 
SGEU has put out a call for nominations for a member to sit on the Public Employees Pension Plan board. This position is open to all SGEU members. If you are interested in being nominated, contact Shawna North (Shawna.north@saskpolytech.ca). Preference to be given to nominees with pension experience/training. Nomination deadline is Friday, November 13.

Long Term Disability (LTD) Change 
Effective November 1, 2015, the service provider of our LTD Plan will be changing to Blue Cross. Those members currently on LTD have been notified and their claim will automatically be moved over.

In solidarity,
Shawna North
Bonnie Bond
Terri Wale
Brent Wilderman
Deb Zawada-Wiebe